Oh No Ono

Oh No Ono

Oh No Ono was an experimental pop quintet from the tiny Danish town of Aalborg. Their music, intricate and otherworldly, defies conventions and expectations (and sometimes gravity).

Oh No Ono consisted of Malthe Fischer, Nicolai Koch, Nis Svoldgård, Kristian Olsen and the two Tambourhinoceros co-founder’s Aske Zidore and Kristoffer Rom. They released two full-length albums Yes (2006) and Eggs (2009), but started of with the energic and refreshing EP Now You Know Oh No Ono.

The first album, Yes, capitalized on a wave in the Scandinavian press and Oh No Ono also received the award “Breakthrough of the Year” from the DR (the Danish equivalent of the BBC). They toured extensively with Yes but the members of Oh No Ono were always trying to attack something bigger. Therefore they started their musical project: Eggs.

To record the album, the band locked themselves away in a small country house on the Danish isle of Mon for nine months. And yet Eggs is the anything but claustrophobic; reaching beyond traditional guitar/bass/drum textures, the band weaves myriad environmental sounds, samples, and nonstandard instrumentation into the mix. The sound of bird flocks taking flight are followed by woodwind players. Percussion is played on a water-filled tub. Elephants are heard, being elephants. A massive choir of Oh No Ono's friends sing along with the organ in a 300-year-old church. Which is not to say the band spent all nine months cuddling trees and Pinking their Floyds. Eggs' vivacious, even lusty approach to songcraft is the trademark of a band determined to approach pop music via the hard road, without ever losing track of the fact that they are creating pop music.

In the end of 2011, Oh No Ono called it quits and the members are doing their own stuff now.